Question: U.S. battleships are traditionally named after what?

Answer: U.S. Navy battleships by law, are named for states, except for the USS Kearsarge which was named by an act of Congress.

Each of the 48 contiguous states has had at least one battleship named for it except Montana; two battleships were authorized to be named Montana but both were cancelled before construction started.

Alaska and Hawaii did not become states until 1959, after the end of battleship building, but the battlecruiser, or “Large Cruiser,” USS Alaska was built during World War II and her sister, USS Hawaii, was begun but never completed.

U.S. battleships
6.10 Colorado class. 6.11 South Dakota class (1920) 6.12 North Carolina class. 6.13 South Dakota class (1939) 6.14 Iowa class.
Commissioned: The date the ship was commis…
Main guns: The number and type of the main b…
Launched: The date the ship was launched

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *